By browsing this site, you accept the use of cookies.


Memotone - Invisible Cities

REF. : DSK050
, *
including eco-tax :
Instead of
Add to cart
Add to cart
Add to cart
Add to cart
Alert a friend
Your friend's e-mail address : Your e-mail address :
Your friend's name : Your name :

Your comment : 500 Characters left

Release description

Bristol-based multi-instrumentalist producer Memotone returns to Diskotopia for the stunning full-length LP Invisible Cities, undoubtedly his most accomplished work to date, effortlessly joining the dots between Martin Denny, Yasuaki Shimizu, Nurse With Wound, and Mark Isham…

Memotone is the principal alias for Bristol-based multi-instrumentalist, composer, and producer William Yates. As a solo artist, he has released on labels such as Black Acre, Bedouin, Project Mooncircle, and Brownswood either as Memotone or under his other alias Halfnelson. In addition to doing composition work for film and television, he works as a session musician for the likes of Dmitry Evgrafov, Connie Constance, and Phaeleh. He's also part of the Avon Terror Corps project helmed by Bokeh Versions, Giant Swan. Noods et al., and is a member of ATC-affiliated Pheasantry Society. His music has been championed on the radio, a key influential medium for Yates growing up, by the likes of Gilles Peterson, Mary Anne Hobbs, Tom Ravenscroft, Nick Luscombe, and more.

Drawing from Bristol's own sonic history, from the late 80s to the present, as well as the writing of Italo Calvino, Yates has put together 10 tracks on Invisible Cities that sit somewhere between neo-classical, ambient, fourth-world exotica, and post-krautrock. The mix of different timbres of live string and wind instruments, astute synthesizer touches, and skittish drum machine strokes creates an organic and ethereal energy deftly manipulated into a delicately interwoven narrative through Yates's production prowess. Already garnered support from the music press and radio DJs, the album will strongly appeal to a wide range of music lovers and fans of Ryuichi Sakamoto, Dorothy Ashby, Alberto Iglesias, Labradford, Delia Derbyshire, Peverelist, Toshifumi Hinata and more…


  • Release Information
  • Label Diskotopia
  • Format 12"
  • Country UK
  • Released March 2020
  • Style Electronica, Experimental

Similar products

Our customers also liked

Paiement sécurisé par carte bancaire et paypal
Livraison 24/48h avec nos partenaires :
Chronopost, DHL, UPS
Get many advantages by subscribing to our newsletter:
New arrivals, exclusives, special offers and many more !